The effects of mental clarity

I received a joke e-mail today that was very very funny.  It was about all the liberals that are fleeing to Canada due to our whole political issues here in the US.  The thing is, I already have been telling people that I’m totally claiming political asylum in Canada if McCain and Palin win.  For your amusement, I’m copying the lines that I found especially funny:

The possibility of a McCain/Palin election is prompting the exodus among left-leaning citizens who fear they’ll soon be required to hunt, pray, and agree with Bill O’Reilly.

“I went out to milk the cows the other day, and there was a Hollywood producer huddled in the barn,” said Manitoba farmer Red Greenfield, whose acreage borders North Dakota. “The producer was cold, exhausted and hungry. He asked me if I could spare a latte and some free-range chicken.”

In an effort to stop the illegal aliens, Greenfield erected higher fences, but the liberals scaled them. So he tried installing speakers that blare Rush Limbaugh across the fields. ‘Not real effective,’ he said. ‘The liberals still got through, and Rush annoyed the cows so much they wouldn’t give milk.’

Personally, I’m just irritated that for all of my voting life, I’ve only ever cast ONE vote that was actually FOR someone.  Every other time, I’ve been casting my vote AGAINST someone that I just really really didn’t want to win.  I hate picking the lesser evil but it doesn’t seem there is any other way.  Also, I want to remind people that they don’t HAVE to vote on every section on the ballot.  I have a friend that said she voted for the names on the sections she didn’t know about randomly.  Don’t do that please.  If you don’t know anything about any of the people running, just don’t vote for anyone.  You are not required to fill in every area and it is not very responsible to vote when you don’t know anything about the people running.

I think the bug that the kids brought home from daycare a few weeks back is finally leaving our house.  This is a good thing as I really don’t like feeling sick on top of the pregnancy and, of course, I don’t like my kids to be feeling ill.  Since there has been no more spotting as of late Monday night and since I haven’t been running anymore fevers or anything, I will make yet another attempt to pick up the gym routine. 

This pregnancy has been decidedly harder than all my others.  I don’t know if this is because it actually IS harder with the twins and all, or if part of the discomfort of pregnancy has always been masked by the awe and amazement at adding another child to our family.  Especially in my first, but in the others as well, the changes that have happened and the way I’ve felt have been intricately linked with, well, OMG I’m PREGNANT.  The excitement, the anticipation, the hours or dreaming about what this baby will be like, have all countered the discomfort involved in having your uterus stretch to the extreme detriment of your bladder,  intestines, rib cage, and every other generally important body part sharing your abdomen with the growing baby.  I feel constantly short of breath, ill if I stand in one place for too long, and generally drained.  I’m pretty sure this isn’t all that different from my other pregnancies, however I think because mentally I’m still in the ‘normal’ world and not in the ‘OMG I’m PREGNANT’ world, I can see all these things more clearly.  Like being sober at a BYOB party, the clarity isn’t always all that pleasant.  I think I need to call P and J sometime and get another fix of “OMG we’re PREGNANT” from them.

Leave a Reply

