Overvote, undervote, and wow – really?

Those of you in MN (and probably some of you NOT in MN) know about the recount for senate.  I’ve found this site:  http://minnesota.publicradio.org/collections/special/2008/campaign/results/mn/recount/ballots/

which you can go to and view all of the contested ballots.  It is, in a word, a riot.  I cannot decide which is funnier, the number of dumb people voting and how they can screw up a ballot, or the unrealistic, dishonest way in which some of them are being contested.  If you scroll to the second page of each ballot, you see who is contesting the ballot and why.  They will say things like “overvote” (voted for more than one person), “undervote” (Um, opposite), or “Not Franken, is Coleman” etc.   Some of them, very few, actually, I can agree with.  A small dot in one name with the full oval filled out for another is “Not overvote, is Coleman” or whomever that person voted for.  An “X” over a filled in oval and another filled in oval I would probably contest to say it is FOR the non-X’d person.  SOOOOO many are just silly though.  A small dot in the Franken box has the Franken side saying it is REALLY a vote for Franken.  A line through Coleman’s name (which seems a pretty clear message to me) and the Coleman team says it is really a vote for them.

I can see, really, what with all the ethics classes these guys go through, why they would be so willing to twist someone’s real actual wishes to be a vote in their favor even when clearly it isn’t.  It just makes me so sad.  Aren’t these people supposed to represent us?  How can they do that when they can’t even be honest about a clear ballot message?

Also, the guy that ‘wrote in’ for every possible voting blank and used the whole ballot to write that he hated the voting process and all the ads…  haha… funny, really.  Dumb, to use your ballot to make that statement, but funny.    I think that was one of the Fridley ones, if you want to look it up.

Asher’s behind seems to be doing better.  I picked up some ‘probiotic’ yogurt the other day for him as well as a new diaper rash treatment.  I’ve gone through Burt’s Bees and Eco Baby brands to find a diaper rash treatment that I liked and neither of them were much good.  I got California Baby this time and I LOVE it!  I highly recommend this system if you have a sensitive diapered child.  I got both the rash spray wash and the cream and Asher LOVES the spray.  It doubles as a ‘boo boo spray’ which is nice, but whenever I change him I can just spray the area with this and it is both calming and cleansing.  He just likes that it feels cool and doesn’t involve anyone actually touching the sensitive area.  The cream is soft and smooth and white and doesn’t stink, which is a HUGE plus from the other organics I’ve had that separate to oil and a dense cream that is hard to apply.  He doesn’t throw NEARLY the same kind of fit when we put it on him and once we are done and diapered, he doesn’t walk around like he just got off a horse for the next 30 minutes either. 

Today at work I got in only to realize that I’ve left my purse at home.  That means… no money.  THAT means… no lunch.  I’m contemplating sitting in the lunch room with a sign that says “Will make reports for soup.” and seeing what that gets me.  I do have food here, just not my regular lunch.  I have cereal, unsalted cashews, a hard boiled egg, an apple, a clementine, and a guava.  I’m not going hungry, I just really miss my hot soup.  Oh well, I’ll be fine.  Thank goodness I don’t have to stop and get gas along the way or anything because I don’t know what the going rate for cleaning gas station bathrooms is, but I’m betting it isn’t an even exchange for gas.

3 Responses

  1. I must say this is a great article i enjoyed reading it keep the good work 🙂

  2. We love the CA baby products. The shampoo and conditioner are great, too. All natural, and they smell so fresh! I don’t know if the boo boo spray does anything, but Ada sure thinks it makes all of her owies better… Glad to hear Asher is doing better. Sorry to hear about your lack of lunch. I’d gladly offer my leftover quinoa pasta if I didn’t live so far away 🙂

  3. At my office (I work from home, but I used to work in the office) they have oatmeal, popcorn, three kinds of soup, granola bars, hot cocoa, coffee, etc etc etc. They just don’t want you to leave, but it’s nice when you have no lunch!

Leave a Reply

