Glucose tolerance test, you unfair bitch

After having all day yesterday to go over all this in my head, I have to say, I’m a little annoyed.  I seriously was NOT worried about that test.  I didn’t even think it made sense for me to take it.  Four pregnancies, ALL without getting anywhere near failing that test, ALL while I was significantly more overweight and out of shape than I am right now.  How is this fair?  How is it right that I put in all that work and eat right and fail?  OK, granted, I’m not exactly running 5Ks (or spending much time standing when I could be sitting at all, for that matter), but I still hardly eat ANY processed sugars at all.  In fact, that dumb drink I had to have yesterday was probably a complete shock to my system due to being 100% crap sugar. (I’ve been researching online what that solution is made from and many companies use ‘dextrose’, which in my book is pretty much just high fructose corn syrup.  I’ll have to ask about the specific drink they are having me take at this clinic.) 

So now, here I am with hearing that failing this test, while it doesn’t mean you have GD (85% of the people that fail the 1 hour test still pass the 3 hour test), according to doctor internet, it DOES mean you might still have slight insulin issues.  Plus, ACTUALLY failing the 3 hour test (which I highly doubt I will but I am not ruling it out since I never in a million years would’ve guessed that I’d have failed the 1 hour test) DOES mean you have a higher risk of developing real diabetes eventually.  AHHHH!!  All that work so that I would NOT have to worry about this and here it is staring me in the face.  “Why, hello fat person, did you know you failed the crappy 1 hour glucose test?”  My latest obsession?  Hunting down pictures online of skinny pregnant women that failed the 1 hour test.  I know.  Issues, anyone?

The fallout?  Now I am stuck obsessing over the symptoms of GD.  Excessive thirst?  Hardly.  I barely am able to keep up with all the water I’m supposed to be drinking.  (P and J, don’t read this part) Whenever I have a couple of contractions that are in near the 10-15 minute apart range I force myself to go get more to drink, in fact. Like last night when I was up from 3 to 5.  (You can start reading again.)  Excessive urination?  Um, have I mentioned I was pregnant?  For being pregnant, I would classify this as very much not excessive.  Fatigue?  Ya, that whole being up from 3-5 thing is not uncommon.  I’m carrying around a good 40 extra pounds all the time and working and taking care of my 3 kids PLUS I have an iron count of 9 so while I AM tired, I don’t think it is outside of the norm for all those factors.  The only other thing that I can really think of is the tendency for GD to develop very large babies.  Well, these boys ARE big, but I have a history of having bigger babies (recall my 36 weeker that was 8 pounds 9 ounces) and J told me he was over 9 pounds as a baby if I recall that correctly.  Plus, the babies in GD are bigger because they develop more fat on them because their insulin levels are turning all the extra sugars  that you are passing to them into fat since your insulin levels are not.  These boys are measuring bigger based on bone length and such, not on how much fat they might be building up.

Grrr.  I know.  It will most likely all be totally fine.  It’s just that I don’t want to squeak by.  I want to fly by with numbers so golden that nothing could touch me.  THAT would be fair after working my ass off to be so healthy for this pregnancy.  If only matters in pregnancy and life and health were fair.  If only.  But THAT is a whole different matter entirely.  Speaking of that, I guess I should really just take what we have been granted and run with it because overall, everything has gone extremely well for us.

3 Responses

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself. You weren’t pregnant with twins the other 4 times. And GD can affect people that are otherwise totally healthy. And the margin of error on the 1 hr test is HUGE.

  2. I agree with Jeanette, go easy on yourself. The lab tech at my OB’s office told me that almost every mom pregnant with twins fails the 1 hour test. BTW, my very thin cousin (think 110 pounds, average height) has had GD with each of her five pregnancies.

  3. Like I said before, I failed the 1 hour too (with Bri when I was 10+ lbs skinnier than with Katie) and no issues. Try not to stress too much over it.

Leave a Reply

