Slowly, very slowly

I know – not many blogs.  Sorry about that. 

I don’t have time for a long post now either.  Just wanted to post that I’m wearing a pair of my old pre-pregnancy size 12s today!  I was wearing a pair yesterday and the day before as well.  Yay me!  Granted, they are tight – but nothing is ripping as I move so that’s good.  The funny thing is that they are all really tight over my belly.  My waist in general used to be the area that all my pants were loose on.  I am glad as it means there are still some effects of the pregnancy lingering around – having something other than me to blame tight pants on is always a plus!  I also FINALLY got 178 this morning so I’m pretty excited.  What are the odds that I can make 177 by Friday?

I can feel my strength coming back, albeit slowly.  At my 6 week PP appointment they drew another hemoglobin blood test and I came back with a roaring 8.2.  Ya, that’s a bit on the low end.  I can manage to keep my elliptical speed up to 4.5 – 5.5 more often than not at level 9 now though so it is coming back.  At the gym this past weekend I brought all three kids to the kids’ play place.  This was the first time I’ve ventured back with Asher for well over a year.  He did great!!  No crying or anything.  Jessie had fun as well.  I did get paged back to the childcare area about 20 minutes into my workout because Asher had a potty accident even though I TOLD them as I was walking out to remind him and bring him to the bathroom as it was a new and exciting place and him would probably forget.  It actually sounds from Jessie and Gavin that he was up inside the tunnels and couldn’t find his way out and was scared and calling for help.  OMG I hate their childcare quality.  When I was paged I was walking back from the elliptical and being very angry that OF COURSE they wouldn’t be able to deal with all three for a full 30 minute workout.  Hearing it was just a potty accident was good though because I could run out to the car and get his extra clothes and keep working out.  Since I only had 10 minutes left I decided to try out running for the first time.

Running:  I  AM  S L O W!

I finished off 10 minutes at 4.5 MPH.  That is frightening.  It was hard even and as much as I wanted to keep going and get in at least 1 mile for my first run I would’ve been on that treadmill for way too long.  Then I was sore.  Very sore.  Thankfully, not specifically my knees although they were sore too.  I need to keep stretching, especially that left leg, and I do need to get new shoes if I’m going to run more.  I don’t think it matters on the elliptical but the shoes I’m using were purchased in fall of 2007.

Yep, it is slow, but normal is creeping back up on me.

4 Responses

  1. Slow but steady, that’s great!

    I’m still having a tough time getting more than one thing done on my to do list each day-you’re e-mail is still coming, hopefully before you reach 177 🙂

  2. So, did you have to stop at 10 minutes due to physical fatigue or cardiovascular? If it was physical, maybe you need to run faster? For me, its more jarring on my body to run slower than faster, if that makes any sense.

    • Well, I HAD to stop because my kids were in the childcare and I needed to get done in time to shower and pick them up. I only went 10 minutes because I workout for 30 and I had finished 22 minutes on the elliptical before being called to get Asher new pants in the childcare. I could’ve run longer but in order to finish off a full mile it would’ve been a lot longer than a 10 minute run and I didn’t feel like staying on the treadmill forever. Want to / had to .. such pesky details.

  3. Good job girl! I’m finally making some good progress as well. Gotta get this weight off ASAP!

Leave a Reply

