I suppose…

That it won’t kill me to post another blog.  The trouble is, once it has been a certain amount of time, you feel like you need a title and post subject to sum up EVERYTHING that has happened since the last post and it is very overwhelming.  Well, it would be, if you were more exciting than me anyway.  For me it is just embarrassing as you would THINK there was more to post about.

I do have some exciting things, I guess, so I’ll try to hit what I can recall.

Workouts:  I kinda suck in this regard but oh well.  I have been able to run!  YAY!  My heel has healed and I was finally able to get a 30 minute run in even though it was oh so slow.  I’m pushing to get 5.0 MPH which is a 12 minute mile which is, sadly, sad.  Generally I spend some time walking during that and/or setting the treadmill to 4.8 or 4.9 but all the same, running I have been doing.  Today, in fact, I made the full 3 miles for the first time although it took me about 38 minutes.  Also?  I almost died.  I walked it off for a bit and did my stretching to cool down before attempting to walk down the stairs to the locker room as passing out and nose diving down the stairs is probably not something that would have people in the gym looking at me thinking “How cool is she?”  I thought I was fine once I got down to the locker room but when I was in the shower I started feeling rather ill.  Now, I’m no germ freak or anything like that but all the same, to be feeling bad enough to actually sit down in a public shower is a big deal, I think.  Ick, but at least I did not pass out.  As for the weigh-in, I was dreading this because I hadn’t weighed in for over a week because I had stopped hitting the gym when I went on my trip to MD (to be disclosed later) and between the trip and the drinks and the not-perfect food consumed I was certain my weight would be high.  Anyway, before I left my weight has been super stubborn in moving at all even though I’m quite certain the calories in vs calories out prior to that was sufficient to have lost at least an impressive 4 pounds since my last posting.  Instead, I had been going up and down such that I was about 176 before I left.  Today I gingerly glanced at the scale results with a pre-emptive cringe on my face and was shocked to see 174.  Huh.  Go figure.

Other fronts?  Well, I’m thinking there is no way to get back to my 165 or under before I do another surrogacy round because I have to say, I’ve been matched!  I’m working with a couple from NY, M and R, who are extremely excited to get going NOW.  My OB has OK’d another pregnancy as long as the transfer is after August 3rd and thus a year after my last one.  I’m a little nervous about how soon it is but my new IPs have been working on this for so long and I will do what I can to help.  I’m a bit nervous about the distance but hopefully it will all work out as they are very active in the communication department and I certainly don’t feel isolated.  I already like my new RE WAY WAY WAY better than the old one so that is fun.  I got a call last night for a number to call in my BCP meds to and I got to go pick those up and start them last night.  (Yes, the BCPs are why I don’t foresee any more weight loss in my near future.)  Talk about easy!!  Way better than charging my IPs to overnight the darn things from some Canadian pharmacy!  Plus, the person that was actually calling me with about the meds was the RE herself and not some goofball pharmacy person that could barely spell her own name.  She also asked me to make a phone appointment to just talk to her and get to know her.  Like I said – SO MUCH BETTER! 

In an interesting twist, we are using the same lawyer as we had been through the old agency although as we are NOT going through the agency, he has way less control or even access to things with this surrogacy.  I’m fine with this mostly because I know there are limited numbers of lawyers for this in MN but also because I am bravely ready to ‘chain a dragon to cook my meal’ as the Darkover saying goes.  (Or something like that.  It’s fiction anyway people so it isn’t real and I promise that if Marion Zimmer Bradley were alive she herself would not bat an eye at getting it perfect.)

SO – last but not least – my trip!  I had said that I needed a vacation and I got one!!  There is this message board online for surrogates and they were having a get together.  I’m pretty sure that it was intended for those that had been on the board for longer and really knew everyone but what the hell, right?  I crashed it.  They were amazing and wonderful and very nice people and accepted me into their gathering just like an old dear friend and I had a great time.  I flew out to MD and had a very relaxing time out there.  I even got to see a copperhead snake although I don’t think the snake had a very good time as it ended up dead.  We went out to the Tiki Bar and I got completely toasted on one drink and then I was laughed at for my pathetic tolerance levels.  Oh well.  At least I did nothing to embarrass myself. THAT is saying a lot too as I usually manage to do that sober.

So that is my update.

5 Responses

  1. Welcome back, you’ve been missed! Congratulations on the great match, I hope all goes well.

  2. Welcome back, I keep checking in to see if you’ve posted and it’s nice to see an update!

    CONGRATS on the new match! 1 year post partum is pretty average for doing another surrogacy, some girls only wait 4 months, many only 6 months so you did pretty good holding out the year….lol.

    Sounds like you had a nice trip and enjoyed the get together. I always love getting together with other surrogates and sharing experiences.

    Anyway, nice to see you back, and wishing you all the best in your upcoming cycle!

  3. Hey Stranger!!
    I’ve been thinking about you tons and can NOT believe this post!!
    Matched again and on the way???!!! Wow (not judging-just wow, last post you were still considering what to do and you went and DID it without even consulting the blog world!!)

    Agency?

    You’ve done way better on the weight loss front-I’m not even done pumping yet and you’ll already be transferring!!

    I can’t wait for you to get back to regular updating as you move along and feel you have more to share.

    The dragon reference was totally lost on me-perhaps I’ll try to google it. 🙂

  4. Hey lady! Glad you updated!

    And WOW…matched again! Thats great! I hope this journey is beyond amazing for you! =)

    Congrats on 3 miles! I’m running in the Torchlight 5K in downtown Minneapolis tonight. It will be my first one, and also my first run outdoors!

    Dont be a stranger! I hope to see more updates from you soon! 🙂

  5. Welcome back, you've been missed! Congratulations on the great match, I hope all goes well.; Welcome back, you've been missed! Congratulations on the great match, I hope all goes well.;;

Leave a Reply

